top of page


Updated: Sep 6, 2022

By Mary Ann Zimmerman

Many people do not know this title of Mary. In my Pieta Prayer Book (p38), “At the Holy Hour on March 25, 1912, the Blessed Virgin spoke this to Bertha Petit, a humble Franciscan Tertiary: ‘I have called myself the Immaculate Conception. To you I call myself Mother of the Sorrowful Heart. This title, willed by my Son, is dear to me above all others.”

The Chaplet of the Seven Sorrows of Mary has gained renewed popularity following the Church-approved Marian apparitions in Kibeho, Rwanda in the 1980s. Our Lady recommended praying the Rosary of the Seven Sorrows. They are: The Prophecy of Simeon; The Flight into Egypt; The Loss of the Child Jesus in the Temple; Mary Meets Jesus on the Way to Calvary; Jesus Dies on the Cross; Mary Receives Jesus; Jesus is Placed in the Tomb. There are seven graces bestowed on the faithful who pray the chaplet. Pope John Paul II prayed the chaplet every Tuesday and Friday along with the Sorrowful Mysteries of the Rosary. The gift shop stocks the pamphlet, how to pray the

The 9-day Novena to Our Lady of Sorrows begins on September 6th to September 15th the feast of Our Lady of Sorrows. Her feast follows the feast of the Holy Cross on September 14th to show the close connection between Jesus’ Passion and Mary’s Sorrows. This is a standard devotion since the 14th century. Let us be diligent and resurrect this beautiful devotion to Mary. You can find the novena online.

Pray, Hope and Don't Worry. St Padré Pio
35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All



bottom of page